St. Charles Borromeo Parish
Brother Henry Wissing, S.J., architect and construction supervisor, completed a 40’ x 95’ church on the site in 1885. Bishop Martin Marty dedicated this original wood frame church on February 16, 1890.
The fire of January 20, 1916 turned the church and most other mission buildings to ashes.
Bro. Andrew Hartman, S.J. assured that fire would not destroy the church again as he and many local and area helpers poured 18 inch thick concrete walls for the new church a year later. On the Feast of the Holy Trinity, June 11, 1922, Fr. Digmann blessed the new church, and in October of that year Bishop John J. Lawler dedicated the church.
The renovation of the Mission Church is near completion. The eight medallions at the top of the church are now recognizable and visitors can admire the restored mural above the main altar. As of late August/early September 2010, the vibrant artwork visible throughout the church was completed, wrapping up a 5-year long project, by artist, George Hatcher. Beautiful light colored tile replaced the concrete floor and the twenty-four completely re-leaded stained glass windows depicting the life of Christ are restored to their rightful place in St. Charles. When the stations of the cross and statues are finished being restored, they will take their place above the altars, and the St. Charles Borromeo Church restoration project that began over 6 years ago will officially be complete.
If you are interested in receiving the Sacrament of Marriage in the Church, please contact Father Christopher Johnson, S.J. at (605) 747-2361.
St. Francis, SD
- Weekday Mass:
Wednesday 5:30 p.m.
Fr. John Hatcher, S.J.