Subscribe to our mailing list

About St. Francis Mission

St. Francis Mission is a ministry of the of the Society of Jesus (the Jesuits) among the 20,000 Lakota (Sioux) people on the Rosebud Indian Reservation in south-central South Dakota. It is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1886.  The purpose of the Mission is to  re-evangelize Catholic Lakota people and bring the Gospel of Jesus the Christ to those who have not heard it.

Read More

Featured Mission News


Parish Activities & Christmas Mass Schedule

PARISH ACTIVITIES Sunday, December 11 Celebration of Baptisms ◦ 9am Mass – St. Bridget’s, Rosebud ◦ 11:30am Mass – St. Charles, Saint Francis Celebration of Birthdays ◦ After 9am Mass – St. Bridget’s, Rosebud Sunday, December 18 Celebration of Birthdays ◦ 11:30am Mass – St. Charles, Saint Francis Sunday, December 18 Community Christmas Dinner ◦… Read more »

Read More


Latest Mission News


January Suicide and Crisis Hotline Volunteer Training

Are you interested in becoming a volunteer for the St. Francis Mission Suicide & Crisis Hotline? Help us to support our young people, elderly or anyone, whether they are having suicidal thoughts, are in a crisis situation or just need someone to talk to. The next training for Suicide & Crisis volunteers is scheduled for… Read more »

Read More

January 12-Hour Family Recovery Program

Date: Tuesday, January 24, 2017 Time: 9:00am to 4:00pm Place: St. Bridget’s Hall in Rosebud, S.D. (Near the Post-Office) The 12-Hour Family Recovery program supports family members who are living with someone who is drinking or using drugs and is facilitated by local native people. The family program is structured to support the needs of family members who… Read more »

Read More

Holiday Lunches

These free holiday lunches are open to the public from 11:30am-1pm. Everyone is welcome! Please come share a meal with us! St. Bridget’s Hall – Rosebud Wednesday, December 21 Thursday, December 29 Friday, December 30 Icimani Building – St. Francis Monday, December 19 Thursday, December 22 Monday, December 26 Tuesday, December 27 Wednesday, December 28… Read more »

Read More

Subscribe to our mailing list